Whitefriar Grill

Is there anything worse then being told there is no room for you at a restaurant when you are hungry? Especially if said restaurant is one that you didn’t think was as popular as it clearly is. It’s like missing out on a really good party. What did all these people know that I didn’t?!

I finally had not only a reason re-try brunch at Whitefriar Grill, but also a reservation. Even on a bank holiday Monday were were told they would need the table back by noon. This place is not messing around.

The menu is the usual brunch fair with some fun twists. Lots of egg dishes, enough smoked salmon to make it fancy and a classic Full Irish. Brunch menus are scrambling to find fun and unusual items to pair with eggs. The most unusual one on this menu was the Gambas Benedict. Basically it’s eggs florentine with some huge (Dublin Bay) gambas on the side in all their glory. My cousin partook of this dish. She was delighted with the whole thing. There are fancy cocktails as well as fancy juices to wash everything down.

My beverages
My beverages
My meal: eggs on toast. And wedges. Just because.
My meal: eggs on toast. And wedges. Just because.

Our little party partook of the juices and they had a thick quality we weren’t expecting. Was it the beets? They were sweet and refreshing overall if you could get past the texture. The coffee was good and strong. The food was nice. It was a solid brunch. But there wasn’t any dish that made me think: I have GOT to come back here. I hadn’t ordered the juevos rancheros, though, which was my plan going in. My stomach wasn’t up for it that day, but I do feel that I can’t fully review a brunch location until I eat some juevos. Yes, I reserve full judgment to a good juevos. So I guess I need to go back.

The cunning Gambas Benedict
The cunning Gambas Benedict
And a classic full Irish
And a classic full Irish

The sourdough bread we all had in various portions was very delicious and my scrambled eggs were seasoned and cooked perfectly, which isn’t easy. C’s sausages on his full Irish were standout and the rest of the plate was as expected. Oh, and not missing an opportunity to say “you are in IRELAND”, all egg dishes come with potato wedges. Lest you should suffer a meal without a spud. One of my favorite things about the whole meal were the plates. They were all sort of egg shaped and speckled in nice, muted colors. All in all it was thoroughly satisfying but not necessarily overwhelming in it’s fantastic brunch-ness.

But as I said, I need to try the juevos before I can really know if this will be a favorite brunch location.

Whitefriar Grill

Leave a Reply

