MOOCH!

IMAG6143

I had a small obsession with Pink Berry when it first landed in New York City. There was something totally addictive about the tangy, sharp taste of the frozen confection. I liked that I could add whatever toppings I wanted. During the summer of 2007 I probably frequented NYC Pink Berries once a week. Not great for the wallet.

Frozen Yogurt shops had their moment in NYC and LA about 7-9 years ago. There are now two in Dublin, and both are usually pretty busy. For a country that is never very warm, I think this is a success.

Mooch is located on Dawson Street which is ideal for catching the Trinity crowd. In fact, when I went I was certainly the only person over 30 who didn’t have a child or two in tow.

There are six frozen yogurt flavors to choose from along the back wall OR you can opt for a myriad of shakes and smoothies. The topping options are all laid out behind glass so no one can sample before they buy. There’s the usual nuts, berries, candies and chocolates. There are also a good number of sauces and compotes to add colour.

IMAG6142
Alligator Interior Design.

I opted for a natural flavor with sliced almonds and mixed seeds. Keeping it healthy (in so far as frozen yogurt is “healthy”). The yogurt itself tasted not dissimilar to the Pink Berry of my memory. Tangy and refreshing.

The purple/pink atmosphere of Mooch is a bit off-putting. I sat outside amid the Trinity Students trying to be as cool as they think they are. I enjoyed the pile of out of date fashion magazines to peruse as I munched my Mooch.

I don’t think my frozen yogurt obsession is re-ignited, but it s a great spot to keep hanger at bay if you are between meals.

IMAG6144

MOOCH!

Leave a Reply

